They Have Sriracha, So It’s Meant To Be

Where do I even start? This whole time has been crazy. My head has been all over the place thinking about my past, present, and future. But lets start from the very beginning, Monday, June 20th. I walked in and the receptionist was so sweet. Before she even set her stuff down, she was already handing me my stuff and making me feel as part of the team. She showed me to my desk and then walked me through the whole office. Oh my, it’s such a beautiful place to work at. White walls, big windows, and spacious meeting rooms that made my jaw drop. After, I met everyone as they walked into the office. I honestly felt relief running through my body because they all wanted for me to not feel shy. Before I even started figuring out where to start with my day, everyone made sure to remind me the following: ASK QUESTIONS! I immediately knew they wanted to make sure that I not only have fun, but to also use this opportunity to learn and grow.

I met the TV agent and his assistant maybe half an hour later. Both walked in and immediately asked the other intern and me about our lives and what not since they were not around when making introductions. After everyone settled in, he called his assistant and me into his office to speak to us. He introduced himself and told me about his career and the company. He reminded me that I’ve been given one of the most competitive spots in the entertainment industry. Creative Artists Agency is the biggest talent agency in the world that is always looking for talent. No exaggeration. The fact that I’m witnessing this with my own eyes is unbelievable. After the talk, he broke the news to me: I’m the TV intern of the office. I didn’t apply for it and was never told about it, but I sat there and told myself that this is a huge opportunity. I love music and am very knowledgeable about it, but I can grow professionally by learning about TV. It will prove my flexibility and dedication. I’m naturally curious and figured this will be a lot of fun. Well, that day consisted of conducting research that ended up lasting until Wednesday morning. Since then, I’ve been working on projects that need major attention. Throughout these, I’ve been enhancing my understanding of television’s transformation and digitalization. I know TV connects communities, but it’s been interesting going in depth and seeing data that clarifies such links.

It’s been great working in an office and company that believes in each one of their employees. CAA is willing to do anything to see everyone succeed no matter what your position is in the company. This is me coming clean: all this time I’ve been wondering if this is even the right career for me. The second half of last week I felt so lost, confused, and sad. It’s a tough industry and once it hit me, I got discouraged. Don’t get me wrong, I knew it for a long time, but seeing and experiencing it is a different story. It’s not easy, but I’ve been finding more strength, willingness, and passion through the incredible staff around me. CAA has done nothing but enhance my knowledge about entertainment. Every tool possible, from projects to meetings to books, has been made available to me. It all has empowered me for my career to take off. Yesterday we had a meeting with Rob Light, one of the most powerful men in the industry, and he said we’re a special group. Over 1,300 applicants and only sixty interns were chosen. I’m one of the sixty interns this summer. I’m a first-generation college student. Why give up now? I know what I need to work on and am more confident than ever. I’ve proven to myself that this is possible. I’ve made it so far and am not looking back. Let the work begin.

Key note: ALWAYS BE HONEST…and they have SRIRACHA IN THE FRIDGE!!!

Leave a comment